Tuesday, October 30, 2018

On the Record: Riker at Nine

Several years ago I started a tradition of interviewing the kids on their birthdays. By asking the children the same questions every year, we'll be able to see how their personalities and interests change (or stay the same).

Riker has just turned NINE and this is his seventh birthday interview.






What are you going to be when you grow up?
Mm, I kind of want to be like a robot designer or an engineer. Or like a programmer than can program built robots.  I kinda wanna be a robotist. If you know what that means. You know how there's like a geologist; it's kind of like a robotist.

What’s that going to be like?
Putting together parts, screwing, typing, building software, building the hardware.

What are your favorite toys?
Well, I bought the Nintendo Switch and  I really like playing on that. And we basically made a fort
and my favorite toys are, well, when mom's reading at night, technically my favorite toys are fidget spinners and balls.

What is your favorite food?
I really like cinnamon buns and apple fritters, banana bread, and if you want a food, I really like sushi. And for like a lunch at my school if I'm packing, usually it would be a peanut butter and jam sandwich.

Who are your best friends?
Gabby, Arthur, Grant, Sebastian, Noah. And my cousins.

What makes you happy?
You, when you make me laugh.

What makes you sad?
Um, Ari, sometimes being annoying on my laptop and stealing my stuff. Actually that's not really sad, it's more angry.

When you dream at night, what do you dream about?
Um, I don't really know. Its hard for me to keep track of what I dream of.

What do you like to do with Daddy?
Ride my bike and build robotics and play board games.

What do you like to do with Mama?
Play games. Play tricks on her. And going out to a restaurant.

What’s your favorite color?
Blue.

What’s your favorite book?
I don't really have one right now but if I have to choose it would be Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

What does Daddy do during the day?
Sit around on his computer. Ride his bike.

What does Mama do during the day?
Things around the house.

What do you do during the day?
Build forts, play Roblox and play Minecraft on my Nintendo Switch. And go to friend's houses.

What do you want to learn or do before you turn ten?
I want to learn how to do long multiplication and long division. And how to hack Roblox.


***

You can read Riker's interviews from previous years here:

On the Record: Riker at Eight

On the Record: Rike at Seven

On the Record: Riker at Six

On the Record: Riker at Five

On the Record: Riker at Four

On the Record: Riker at Three

I've shamelessly pilfered the interview idea and the questions from my friend Lauren over at Sparkling Adventures, You can read the birthday interviews of her four darling daughters here.


No comments:

Post a Comment